LumberJocks

Grngate Gates Work Great

  • Advertise with us
Review by pintodeluxe posted 04-10-2017 07:21 PM 1244 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Grngate Gates Work Great Grngate Gates Work Great Grngate Gates Work Great Click the pictures to enlarge them

Check out my video review on Youtube…
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ic9A73Fb_Y

Installing this Grngate starter system was amazingly simple. If you can plug in a phone, you can install this system. Of course you have to wire the system controller, but that’s nothing more than stripping a few wires, and screwing the wires to a terminal block. Actually I sacrificed a 240v extension cord so I could keep my dust collectors cord intact, and that was a good solution for me.

The gates are quite sturdy, and feel like they are built to last. Everything is wired with communication cables, so you don’t need a separate 120v outlet at each gate or sensor location. You can daisy chain the gates together as needed, or run home runs to the controller, whichever works best for your shop layout. The starter kit comes with a controller, three gates, three sensors, and all the cables. If you compare it to other systems, it’s a fantastic value. If it seems expensive, compare it to respiratory therapy. Dust collection is important for our health people, and this system makes sure I will actually use my dust collection for each and every cut.

This year my priority was safety, and for me that means a Sawstop and good dust collection.

As far as reliability, the gates have activated 100% of the time. Since everything is hard wired, I don’t expect any issues.
Comments and questions are welcome.
(sorry about the dinosaur picture, but the blast gates remind me of a Dilophosaurus with neck frills in attack mode!)

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush




View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

5201 posts in 2443 days



7 comments so far

View Jerry's profile

Jerry

2166 posts in 1278 days


#1 posted 04-10-2017 08:05 PM

Willie this is a GREAT review, very useful and informative, thanks so much for taking the time to post this!

-- There are good ships and there are wood ships, the ships that sail the sea, but the best ships are friendships and may they always be. http://geraldlhunsucker.com/

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

5201 posts in 2443 days


#2 posted 04-10-2017 08:19 PM

Yeah, it’s a good system for people that want effective dust collection without having to manually switch gates and start the collector with each cutting operation.
Thanks

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View CyberDyneSystems's profile

CyberDyneSystems

244 posts in 1818 days


#3 posted 04-10-2017 08:59 PM

Thank you for the review. This looks like something we might afford, and we definitely NEED!

-- Without the wood, it's just working

View CL810's profile

CL810

3597 posts in 2618 days


#4 posted 04-10-2017 08:59 PM

Thanks for a great review Willie!

-- "The only limits to our realization of tomorrow will be our doubts of today." - FDR

View AZWoody's profile

AZWoody

809 posts in 854 days


#5 posted 04-10-2017 09:14 PM

Interesting. With the shape of those gates, have you had a problem using it with ducting against the wall? It looks like everything has to be angled away or set out quite a bit.

View pintodeluxe's profile

pintodeluxe

5201 posts in 2443 days


#6 posted 04-10-2017 09:37 PM



Interesting. With the shape of those gates, have you had a problem using it with ducting against the wall? It looks like everything has to be angled away or set out quite a bit.

- AZWoody

That’s what I thought initially. The gates have threaded inserts that allow you to wall mount them. That would be a slick way to do it, because you could attach to your metal duct or S&D duct on both sides of the gate. The pipe itself would tuck nice and tight to the wall (I’m imagining doing this on a vertical drop), and the gate would just stick out a bit more.

Even the way I did my simple install, the gates don’t interfere with my normal woodworking routine.
Thanks for chiming in.

-- Willie, Washington "If You Choose Not To Decide, You Still Have Made a Choice" - Rush

View Gripbd's profile

Gripbd

7 posts in 423 days


#7 posted 04-11-2017 03:39 AM

I’ve got this system too. What sold me on the automatic operation was that I could install the blast gates in locations regardless of whether or not they would be easily accessible for manual operation. I have dust collection to my TS above and below the table, so I have one gate on the floor beside the saw, and one gate on the ceiling. I also installed the gate to my miter saw below the saw, where it is out of the way, but inaccessible.

I would like to add that Petr, who I dealt with when I placed the order, couldn’t have been more helpful to deal with, and I highly recommend them.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com