LumberJocks

Tool-less Blade Guide Bearing Retofit

  • Advertise with us
Review by woodshopmike posted 04-20-2017 04:11 PM 1811 views 0 times favorited 7 comments Add to Favorites Watch
Tool-less Blade Guide Bearing Retofit No-picture-s No-picture-s Click the pictures to enlarge them

This review is going to just skim the surface as a more detailed review is on my blog here. With that said, let me tell you the big things that make this upgrade great.

The new blade guides don’t take up anymore room than the originals, but they’re many times better. The bearings are 6000 series which is a big step up from the skateboard sized bearings that originally came on the saw. Also, adjusting the bearings is very quick an easy. There is a thumb screw on the front of each bearing that locks the bearings position. So it’s a quick quarter turn to unlock and position the bearings and then a quarter turn back to lock the bearing in place.

What’s really nice is that when you tighten down the thumb screw, the bearing’s location doesn’t change unlike the original guide bearings that were held in place with a socket head cap screw. I don’t even know how much time was spent positioning the bearings just to have it shift when tightened down by the socket head cap screw. The bearings are also spring loaded which helps to position the bearings more quickly.

The last benefit is probably the biggest. This upgrade makes my blades track much better that the OEM setup due to more surface area to support the blade during the cut. This is especially evident during resawing.

I’ve embedded (I hope) a video I put together to hopefully give y’all a better picture of this upgrade. If any of y’all have the 10-325 or 10-324 bandsaws I’d really recommend looking into this retrofit.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JTVkkTyGzKM

If this doesn’t embed correctly and any of y’all know how to fix it let me know and I’ll get things working!

-- www.woodshopmike.com, www.woodshopmikestudio.etsy.com




View woodshopmike's profile

woodshopmike

225 posts in 1446 days



7 comments so far

View Jim Jakosh's profile

Jim Jakosh

19312 posts in 2888 days


#1 posted 04-20-2017 08:39 PM

I really like that system where the back of the blade hits the outer part of the bearing instead of the side like my Grizzly does!!

-- Jim Jakosh.....Practical Wood Products...........Learn something new every day!! Variety is the Spice of Life!!

View doubleDD's profile

doubleDD

6617 posts in 1826 days


#2 posted 04-20-2017 08:55 PM

Good review Mike. I purchased these when Rikon had their last 15% off sale. Put them on a couple weeks ago and was going to do a review after more testing. Glad you did. The bandsaw runs smoother and quieter even under heavier cutting. Definitely a big plus adjusting the bearings. I also noticed a difference with the blade being more stable under stress with the wider bearings too. I agree, I would recommend this upgrade highly.

-- Dave, Downers Grove, Il. -------- When you run out of ideas, start building your dreams.

View woodshopmike's profile

woodshopmike

225 posts in 1446 days


#3 posted 04-21-2017 02:00 PM

Yeah, I was blown away how much smoother the saw runs!


Good review Mike. I purchased these when Rikon had their last 15% off sale. Put them on a couple weeks ago and was going to do a review after more testing. Glad you did. The bandsaw runs smoother and quieter even under heavier cutting. Definitely a big plus adjusting the bearings. I also noticed a difference with the blade being more stable under stress with the wider bearings too. I agree, I would recommend this upgrade highly.

- doubleDD

-- www.woodshopmike.com, www.woodshopmikestudio.etsy.com

View ocean's profile

ocean

46 posts in 616 days


#4 posted 04-22-2017 02:07 AM

I was just about to order the upgrade but was waiting for someone to review. Sounds like no reason to wait now. Thanks fro the review.

-- Bob, FL Keys

View woodshopmike's profile

woodshopmike

225 posts in 1446 days


#5 posted 04-22-2017 06:27 PM

Glad I could be of assistance!

I was just about to order the upgrade but was waiting for someone to review. Sounds like no reason to wait now. Thanks fro the review.

- ocean


-- www.woodshopmike.com, www.woodshopmikestudio.etsy.com

View richardchaos's profile

richardchaos

202 posts in 162 days


#6 posted 05-26-2017 07:34 PM

Yes why is that/ I have a grizzly too and the back of the blade rides on the SIDE of the bearing/ Makes no sense


I really like that system where the back of the blade hits the outer part of the bearing instead of the side like my Grizzly does!!

- Jim Jakosh

View HankLP's profile

HankLP

43 posts in 285 days


#7 posted 09-13-2017 06:22 AM

I’m wondering if the will fit my Craftsman BAS350? I know they are basically the same saw and the Rikon fence installed with no issues.

Have your say...

You must be signed in to post the comments.

DISCLAIMER: Any posts on LJ are posted by individuals acting in their own right and do not necessarily reflect the views of LJ. LJ will not be held liable for the actions of any user.

Latest Projects | Latest Blog Entries | Latest Forum Topics

HomeRefurbers.com